First circular

First Circular: 13th ASA Conference (united with 14th HITRAN Conference)

University of Reims - Reims - FRANCE

Wednesday, 24 August – Friday, 26 August 2016

The 13th Atmospheric Spectroscopy Applications (ASA) workshop will take place at the conference center of the Hôtel de la Paix, Best Western in Reims on August 24-26, 2016 (starting on the Wednesday of the week before the Prague International Conference on Molecular Spectroscopy). This meeting will continue the union with the biennial HITRAN conference.
This meeting will be dedicated to the following topics:
• Atmospheric measurements and observations
• Relevant new spectroscopic data and their analysis
• New trends in atmospheric spectroscopy techniques and gas analysis
• User applications
• Status and evolutions of molecular databases
• Database archiving, access and methodology
The meeting will also provide the opportunity to organize special sessions on satellite measurements, climatology, planetology (atmospheres of planets, exoplanets), and astrophysics (hot media such as the atmospheres of brown dwarfs, etc.).
Contributions to the meeting will be selected according to their relevance to the topics aforementioned and to the HITRAN database and the high-temperature compilation (HITEMP).
This meeting will include oral and poster presentations. We encourage posters that promote interaction among participants, and communications that present new research prior to peer-reviewed publication.
Since space is limited (max. 130 persons), pre-registration is highly recommended.
A registration form will be available mid-January on the ASA web-site at
The deadline for submitting the abstracts is 15th June, but we recommend early submissions to Prof. M.-R. De Backer by e-mail at
You can make alterations to the abstracts prior to this deadline.
The registration fee (220 € for PhD students and 250 € for permanent scientists and postdocs) will cover the cost of the sessions, proceedings, and refreshments. The registration also includes lunches and a banquet ticket for the participant. Banquet tickets (60 €) for accompanying persons will be available for purchase separately.Information about accommodations will be posted on the web site at the time of the second circular.
Local Organizing Committee:
Maud Rotger (chair) Barbara Poty
Alexander Alijah Laurence Régalia
David Bonhommeau Michael Rey
Marie-Renée De Backer Xavier Thomas
Sophie Chenal Vladimir G. Tyuterev
Ludovic Daumont Virginie Zéninari
International Advisory Committee:
Laurence S. Rothman (chair) Andrei Nikitin
Peter F. Bernath Johannes Orphal
Manfred Birk Valery I. Perevalov
Vincent Boudon Agnès Perrin
Kelly Chance Keith Shine
Athéna Coustenis Mary Ann Smith
Brian J. Drouin Jonathan Tennyson
Jean-Marie Flaud Geoffrey Toon
Robert R. Gamache Ha Tran
Joe Hodges Vladimir G. Tyuterev
Iouli E. Gordon
The following persons have been confirmed as invited speakers:
• L. Gianfrani (Second University of Naples, Italy)
• C. S. Goldenstein (Purdue University, USA)
• T. J. Lee (NASA Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, USA)
• A. V. Nikitin (IAO, Tomsk, Russia)
• L. S. Rothman (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, Cambridge, USA)
• R. Wordsworth (Harvard University, Cambridge, USA)